Law of Large Numbers, or a Sigh of Relief

So by now, the suspense must be absolutely killing you.  My room was fine when I got back.  No one stole the dice and got caught gambling in the bathroom, and maybe half the work I left was actually completed thanks to the interventionists I had in my room.  The worksheets worked pretty well, although there was some confusion as to whether “dice” meant one or two… (at this point I cried a little bit).  So we had to end up taking a couple more days to work on probability and do the exploration the right way.  Students were wholly unimpressed that the sum of the probabilities of all of the possible outcomes was 1 for both theoretical and experimental, and I lost a dollar to a student who had a 1 in 200 probability of winning it, but we ended up with a really nice set of graphs illustrating the law of large numbers by looking at the outcomes from a partial group, 1 group and the whole class.

The green and orange were white-washed to help the students focus on the whole class data and the theoretical.

The green and orange were white-washed to help the students focus on the whole class data vs. the theoretical.

Besides that, Denver was a whole lot of fun, and I got to meet some awesome people from the #MTBoS.  It was like that movie where the kid playing the video game is actually waging an international war; All of these people in computer world turned out to be real, and really interesting!  I was going to attempt to do a few math recaps, but something I learned about myself at NCTM is that I am a very poor judge of sessions.  Still there were some good takeaways, and they may eventually find their way here.

Oh, also I report for in-service tomorrow!

::

Leave a Reply

